extras | I hate you

I read this poem last year in an annual student publication. It was written by a high school student who express what many of us feel.

I Hate you / By Ashley Coles / George Wythe HS / Richmond VA

I hate you for what you are
You tear apart families
on occasions, leaving people soulless
Sometimes no longer wanting
to live life abundantly
Keeping them on a high speed chase
for their sanity
Left crying out in pain because
you have taken residence within
Stripping them of humanity,
peace, and integrity
You are neither racist not prejudiced
You seek to destroy
Black and white, rich and
poor, weak and strong
I do not know the force
that sent you to
Execute your wrath towards them
I do know that it is evil
And that is why I hate you Cancer.

Published in Podium 2010
A Richmond (VA) Public High School Literary Journal

2 thoughts on “extras | I hate you

Leave a Reply

